University films

When coming to university, and leaving home, I wanted to bring movies with me that would remind me of home, and that meant something to me. Here’s what I chose to take with me, and why.

Singin’ in the Rain

When I was younger I would watch this on repeat, enchanted by all the dance numbers and the friendship between the three leads. It reminds me of home and of my dad doing his impression of Lina Lamonte, in a silly high pitched voice, laughing to himself at – “I earn more than Calvin Coolidge; put together!”

Frances Ha

Frances Ha is a film about a twenty something year old, trying to make her way in a big city, with not enough money, and trying to find stay true to her creative nature. So basically, when moving to London to do drama it seemed like the right thing to do to take it with me. I first saw this in the oldest cinema in Dorset, The Rex in Wareham. Lovely.

Annie Hall

I first watched Annie Hall two years ago, and it was my first Woody Allen film. I was instantly enthralled by the cynical sense of humour, the wonderful outfits and the pure brilliance of the comedy. As I watched this for the first time, I started crying at the end. My dad said “what are you crying at??” and I replied with tears running down my face – “it’s just so good”.

“Why are you crying at Annie Hall Sian? You’re not meant to cry at Annie Hall. No one’s ever cried at Annie Hall.”

Trainspotting

Trainspotting is a film so disgusting and yet so exciting that I couldn’t bear to leave it at home. Danny Boyle’s visionary work combined with the strangely uplifting message – “choose life” means that although this film does contain drugs, poo, death and creepy babies, it manages to instantly cheer me up. I’m also a massive fan of Danny Boyle’s earlier and even darker Shallow Grave which is worth finding if you haven’t seen.

Fight Club

I’d been waiting to get my flat key for five minutes and the welfare and diversity officer had already told me that she loved my “I am a Feminist” t shirt. In my head everyone’s university experience includes student marches and rallies, and every student across the country is politically active (I am aware this is silly). Fight Club is so inherently anti capitalist (ironic I know considering the money it made) that it seemed like the perfect student film. Don’t think I’ll be joining the student fight club though.

Leave a Reply

