Pointing and Looking

I like to think that this blog is my way of pointing at the many things in the world of film that I like or that I find exciting. It’s as though I’m a small child pointing out a cow to you and saying “moo!!!!! How exciting! And another moo!! A Moo sequel!”.

So here’s some things I’ve spotted recently that I want to point at.

First of all, Tom Hiddleston has been announced as a voice in the next Tinkerbell film, set for release in 2014.

Now whilst that might not sound pointing-worthy, this video of him singing The Bare Necessities at the D23 expo, where his role was announced, certainly is.

Tom can also be seen in the new trailer for Thor 2: The Dark World. I wouldn’t usually bother pointing out a trailer for a Marvel sequel to you, but I do love Tom Hiddleston…

The D23 expo was also the site of the announcement of Inside Out, a new Pixar animation from the director of Up which takes place inside the mind of an 11 year old girl. The cast looks pretty special with Bill Hader playing Fear, Amy Poehler playing Joy and Mindy Kaling playing Disgust to name a few. This looks like a pretty amazing idea and I’m interested to see a new Pixar animation on its way after all the sequel announcements we’ve been getting recently.

In other film announcement news, James McAvoy is to join Daniel Radcliffe in Sherlock and Wicker Park director Paul McGuigan‘s new take on Frankenstein (untitled thus far), with Radcliffe playing Igor and McAvoy playing Victor. McGuigan is also set to make a film starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Brian Epstein. As a Beatles, Cumberbatch and Frankenstein fan these McGuigan projects make me very excited indeed.

Next up is a quick mention to Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa.

I saw the film the day it came out because of the comedy nerd that I am, and it does not disappoint. Full of brilliantly funny lines and perfect Alan moments the move to the big screen is a brave one which definitely pays off. There’s also a message similar to that of The Worlds End about corporations and following money rather than happiness and coming from two films made by people who have been in the industry for a long period of time this message feels all the more poignant. There is no doubting that Alpha Papa is not only the daddy of local radio, but also of the silver screen. If you’re a fan of Alan then get yourself to a cinema and watch this, it might be the best thing you do this year.

And following on from Steve Coogan’s alter ego, the man himself appears in the new trailer for Philomena, also featuring another face from Alpha Papa, Anna Maxwell Martin. The film is the latest from Stephen Frears and looks to be a corker.

And finally, revisiting the topic of my previous post…

After seeing this video, I’m hoping the new series of Doctor Who is full of musical numbers.

http://www.hibrow.tv/player.html?em=I5dTN3ODp-aiICANElRodMfb3pDi6yAQ#ooid=I5dTN3ODp-aiICANElRodMfb3pDi6yAQ

Leave a Reply

