Music and Movies

I’m truly awful at finding new music that I like. The only way I find a song that I love and can listen to on repeat is if I can connect with an emotion from a film in my mind. Below are my top 5 songs that I only love because of their moments on screen.

5. Tiny Dancer – Elton John. 

I’d heard the song before, and I’d even seen the scene below from Almost Famous before. But in the context of the film, this moment is incredibly magic. I had goosebumps every time i heard it after. The Almost Famous soundtrack helped me discover a lot of other music as well.

4. Obsession – Animotion

Adventureland is one of my favourite films of all time and a huge part of that is the music. It really helps to create the feeling of the 80s and when listening to this song in particular I can clearly a picture a stoned Jesse Eisenberg on the dodgems. Bliss.

3. A Real Hero – College ft. Electric Youth

For a very long time I couldn’t listen to this song without feeling the exact emotion I felt as Drive ended and Ryan Gosling drove into the distance. With such little dialogue in Drive the music obviously became increasingly important and this song really sums up the film as a whole. Magic.

2. Where is my mind – The Pixies

This is a classic example of how a film completely changed my perception of a song. I’d heard it before, liked it, and then carried on with my life. But after watching Fight Club and seeing buildings collapse around Helena Bonham Carter and Edward Norton this song took on a new magic quality.

1. Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners

What with having parents who seem to own every 80s compilation CD ever produced, this was another song that was in no way new to me. I remember reading the tracklisting for the Perks of Being a Wallflower soundtrack and thinking it a bizarre choice. But then one day I was watching Spaced and it featured and it just seemed right. I knew it was going to work. It’s the first scene of this episode:

The moment in The Perks of Being a Wallflower that it’s used is one of my favourite pieces of cinema because I really and truly felt connected with the film at that moment. It’s such a beautiful carefree piece of teenagehood captured.

Ooh I’m getting all emotional just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

