I Give It A Year

Going in, I was fairly skeptical. I’d seen Stephen Merchant’s best man speech clip one too many times for my liking, but it was the only film on I hadn’t seen that I was willing to spend money on.

And I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. Rafe Spall is a gem and I found myself genuinely willing his character and Anna Faris’ character to get together throughout. The cinema was full and, my favourite thing of all, people were laughing. Really laughing. I honestly can’t remember the last time I had that in a cinema; where I wouldn’thave felt ridiculous for laughing non-ironically. There were proper belly laughs booming through the screening. 

There are flaws, and moments that don’t quite work, but the laughs and loveliness of the characters seem to outweigh all of them and overall, I enjoyed it. Good old fashioned fun on a Saturday afternoon. 

3 stars for you I Give It a Year.

Leave a Reply

